Blogs … Fragments of Unfinished Thoughts

Today, I have been wondering about what it means to keep up a blog. A couple of critical remarks were made, that have their importance: (a) whether blog contributions are sufficiently crafted and researched; (b) whether one should not take into account that a blog is never totaly private, in the sense that the blogger also belongs to organisations or groups of people (in my case, for example, I am a Jesuit and I am a professor of theology at the faculty of theology, K.U.Leuven, Leuven, Belgium); (c) whether the time invested in blogging could not be used in a better way. I feel these are important remarks, and they made me think about what blogging means to me and what are my goals when I invest time in it.

Blogging, to me, refers to thoughts that I want to share with others, to stimulate critical reflection, but also to be challenged in what I say or claim. Thoughts put on a blog are not necessarily finished or polished, they may be tentative and heuristic, probing into deeper understandings or inviting others to think. In that sense, blog thought will always be fragmented – a blog is not an article or a book. Of course, that doesn’t mean that a blog contribution should not have been thought through, or that the author should not be careful when writing about him/herself or about others.

I think the openness of blog entries is important: are they open to further thought, and discussion?

Given the world in which we live and given the importance of internet interaction, I am convinced that good blogs are crucially important. Not only do they keep alive a sound critical sense, they also challenge us into new ways of thinking together. However, I will keep wondering on how this can best be done and what decency, quality, and honest seriousness mean when blogging.

2 responses to “Blogs … Fragments of Unfinished Thoughts

  1. Clifford Anderson

    Hi Jacques,

    I just wanted to weigh in to thank you for your blog. I’ve been reading your blog since you started and have enjoyed your posts very much. I hope that you will continue. I do agree that blogging is a different, more exploratory medium than journals or books. But it’s also part of a social network, which needs input from scholars and professionals to thrive. I bet there are quite a few people out there who have been very thankful to discover that a Jesuit and a KUL faculty member is blogging about matters of contemporary concern. Thanks for keeping us thinking!

  2. Blogging is so impersonal. The digital divide is often used to describe the have and have nots, but could be used in the context of a false sense of connectedness. How does a spirit dependent theology employ digital connectedness convey personal elements through ones and zeroes? Sustaining the human touch through the digital medium is difficult. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

